Brown Law, P.L.
Automobile Accident Attorney in Orlando
Personal Injury Law Firm in Orlando
What that means is, if you are injured in an automobile accident, you must first turn to your own insurance to cover your injuries even if the other driver is at fault.
That is what PIP or Personal Injury Protection on your auto insurance policy is all about. Mandatory in the State of Florida, everyone is required to carry minimum $10,000 PIP insurance.
Medical treatment over and above that $10,000 will go to either the Bodily Injury insurance covered by the at fault driver or your own Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. These are not mandatory coverages. So we cannot encourage you enough to carry Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage on your own policy.
It is important to contact your Automobile Accident Attorney in Orlando as soon as possible if injured in an accident as there is a statute of limitations in the State of Florida governing injuries and property damage in automobile accidents ( Florida Statutes Title 8, Ch. 95, Sec. 95.11). The statute of limitations in our state is 4 years. That count starts the day of the accident. This statute sets a deadline for “Serious Injuries” that may result in a law suit. This time limit to open such a case is strictly adhered to by the courts.
Injury claims take time to settle. This is due in part to the time it takes to medically treat your injuries.
Don’t delay! Call your Personal Injury Law Firm in Orlando, Brown Law, P.L. as soon as possible after an accident to protect the compensation you may deserve if injured.